Working Committees

KACEE has both established and ongoing working committees and ad hoc committees that work on projects on an as needed basis.

Want to know more about the benefits of volunteering with KACEE?  CLICK HERE!

Below is a current list of both working and ad hoc committees.  If you are interested in getting involved with KACEE, please contact the committee chair of any of the following committees for more information on how you can help promote environmental education in Kansas:

Membership Committee is charged with retaining current members and increasing membership, particularly organizational membership.

Chair: Mike Rader

KS Department of Wildlife and Parks
512 SE 25th Avenue
Pratt, KS 67124
O: 620-672-0708
Staff Assigned to Committee: Ashlyn Kite-Hartwich

Public Relations Committee generates publicity through creating media materials, website design, and marketing plans designed to increase membership and participation in KACEE activities.

Chair: Bill McGowan

Johnson County Parks and Recreation District
Ernie Miller Nature Center
909 N K-7 Highway
Olathe, KS 66061
O: 913-764-8580
F: 913-831-4922
H: 913-764-0654
Staff Assigned to Committee: Rachel Wahle

 Fund Raising/Fund Development Committee is responsible for securing sufficient funds for carrying out the activities of KACEE and preparing the draft annual budget.

Chair: John Strickler

1523 University Drive
Manhattan, KS 66502-3447
O: 785-565-9731
F: 785-532-3305
Staff Assigned to Committee: Laura Downey

Program Committee coordinates programs for KACEE biannual meetings and special events.

Chair: Kathy Sexson

Director, Lee Richardson Zoo
PO Box 499
Garden City, KS 67846-0499
O: 620-276-1250
Staff Assigned to Committee: 

Planning and Assessment Committee develops an annual implementation plan within the framework of the strategic plan and evaluates progress of reaching planned goals.

Chair: Cindy Ford

Pittsburg State University-Biology Department
Heckert-Wells 321
Pittsburg, KS 66762-7500
O: 316-235-4728
F: 316-235-4194
H: 316-632-4280
Staff Assigned to Committee:  

Leadership Development Committee is charged with the ongoing task of developing the leadership skills of current KACEE Executive Committee members as well as actively seeking out persons to provide new leadership within the organization.

Chair: Dee Turner

State Conservation Commission
109 SW 9th St., Ste 500
Topeka, KS 66612-1299
O: 785-296-1036
F: 785-296-6172
H: 785-796-6443
Staff Assigned to Committee: Laura Downey

Education Program Advisory Committee is charged with the ongoing task of developing, implementing and evaluating the educational programs of KACEE such as Project Learning Tree, Project WET, Project WILD, WILD Aquatic, the Leopold Education Project, and Investigating Your Environment.

Chair: Jeff Severin

University of Kansas Center for Sustainability
Lawrence, KS
O: (785)864-5804
Staff Assigned to Committee: Melissa Arthur