Awards Nomination


Excellence in Conservation & Environmental Education Awards 

2020 Nominations Are Open!

Click Here to Nominate a Friend or Colleage for a 2020 EE Award



These awards are presented annually by KACEE to recognize those best exemplifying dedication, commitment, and influence in the field of conservation and environmental education (EE). Please consider nominating an individual, organization or school for one of the following awards: 


John K. Strickler Award:
This award recognizes the lifetime achievements of the recipient in the field of conservation and environmental education (EE). The nominee must have a minimum of ten (10) years’ involvement in the field of EE in general and if appropriate, involvement with KACEE as well, and have made and continues to make a significant contribution to EE in Kansas.


KACEE Awards:
This award recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals, organizations, agencies, community efforts, schools, and businesses in the field of EE. The nominee must have a minimum of five (5) years’ involvement in the field of EE, and have made and continues to make a significant contribution to EE in Kansas. Nominations may be made in the categories below:

  • PreK-16 Education: School or individual in a formal education setting may be nominated.

  • Government: Individual or agency may be nominated.

  • Community and Non-Profit Organizations: Individual or organization may be nominated.

  • Agriculture: Individual or organization that leads/encourages programs that educate about agricultural best management practices may be nominated.

  • Business/Corporate Sector: Individual, business, or corporation may be nominated.


Connie Elpers Rising Star Award: 
Named after one of the most influential environmental educators in Kansas, Connie shared her love and passion for teaching about the environment with thousands of people, from young to old. With a seemingly inexhaustible energy for teaching about the environment, Connie embodied the best of our field and was an outstanding example to the young people she mentored. This award honors Connie’s legacy in recognizing those passionate individuals who are new to the conservation and environmental education field in Kansas, but are already making an impact. The nominee must have a minimum of two (2) years’ and a maximum of five (5) years’ experience in the EE field in Kansas. Current KACEE membership is not required. 


Kansas Green School of the Year Award:
This award recognizes Kansas public and private schools that have demonstrated innovation, leadership, whole school involvement, and an integrated, holistic, sustainable approach to implementing environmental projects with a strong environmental education component into their schools. Individual schools nominated for this award must be members of the Kansas Green Schools Network (registration is free and can be attained at Current KACEE membership is not required. Nominations in the elementary school and middle/high school categories are encouraged, and the selection committee reserves the right to make awards (in one or both categories) to those schools best meeting the criteria.

View Nomination Documents Below for Detailed Nomination Criteria

See Past Awardees 1999-2017 Here